Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Haunting Violet

Review Time! Alyxandra Harvey is the author of the Drake Chronicles (which I haven’t read). Haunting Violet is the start of her new series. I haven’t read any of her previous work however I really enjoyed Haunting Violet. Thanks so much to Bloomsbury for the review copy!

(Goodreads) Violet Willoughby doesn't believe in ghosts. But they believe in her. After spending years participating in her mother's elaborate ruse as a fraudulent medium, Violet is about as skeptical as they come in all matters supernatural. Now that she is being visited by a very persistent ghost, one who suffered a violent death, Violet can no longer ignore her unique ability. She must figure out what this ghost is trying to communicate, and quickly because the killer is still on the loose.

Afraid of ruining her chance to escape her mother's scheming through an advantageous marriage, Violet must keep her ability secret. The only person who can help her is Colin, a friend she's known since childhood, and whom she has grown to love. He understands the true Violet, but helping her on this path means they might never be together. Can Violet find a way to help this ghost without ruining her own chance at a future free of lies?

The Short Story? – A hauntingly beautiful tale set in the late 1800’s. A murder mystery with a dark paranormal twist. A girl with a morbid ability. A romance that will captivate the hearts of readers. Haunting Violet is a fantastic paranormal that will leave you craving for more. All the glam of the 1800’s and all the dirty secrets of the privileged.

The Long Story? – I surprised myself by how much I enjoyed this novel! I had it on my radar but I’ve never read anything by Alyxandra Harvey so I was a little hesitant but after reading Haunting Violet I think I’ll give her Drake Chronicles a go! Fantastic novel that is bound to be a crowd-pleaser. The cover is also quite catchy too!

It’s clear that quite a deal of planning went into the plot. It was structured and the story flowed. I’ve always admired authors who write murder mystery because they have to plan the murder, pick a murderer and then keep readers guessing. It’s tough and to write a murder mystery with a paranormal twist set in the 1800’s is quite impressive. Haunting Violet was a spectacular page-turner from the start to the finish. Packed with suspense and mystery, it keeps readers guessing. Throughout the novel, there are hints and clues for who’s the murderer however it’s not til the end when everything clicks. I have to admit I was shocked to find out who murdered the girl! Another one of my favorite aspects of the novel was the novel. It’s a very cute romance, stealing kisses here and there. It’s a romance that will leave you anticipating the next kiss! For fans of The Pretty Little Liars and The Luxe, here comes of the offspring!

A nice cast of characters. Violet was a likeable protagonist, her intentions were pure and her commitment to solving the murder was admirable. I fell in love with Colin, he was so protective of Violet and together they’re absolutely the cutest couple. There was assorted cast of minor characters and by far my favourite was Elizabeth. She reminded me a little of myself actually, a little crazy, very bubbly and always happy. She’s Violet best friends and a little bit of a drama queen. My least favourite character was Violet’s mum who was really quite horrible. However all in all, it was a well developed cast of characters.

I would definitely recommend Haunting Violet for the paranormal crowd. I haven’t been reading as many paranormals lately but this is still one of the better ones I’ve read this year. A fantastic novel from start to finish, beautifully-written and a dark, captivating plot. If you’re like me and enjoy a good paranormal with an engrossing plot, Haunting Violet is the way to go!

Rating – 5/5

Badass Bookie xx


  1. Hmm, I've seen this one around, and from your review, it sounds super interesting. I loved The Luxe and PLL too, so this one is defs on my TBR. Thanks for the awesome review Lisa!

    Tina @ Book Couture

  2. Gorgeous Cover. This one is on my shelf to read :) Ace Review!!

  3. I loved HAUNTING VIOLET and bought the first of Harvey's Drake Chronicles. Now I have to find the time to read it.